Support · Contact · Legal
Verified RCS · SMS · MMS · Log in

Which RCS provider has the most transparent pricing?

Cost & Pricing

Quick answer

Of the eight providers US teams usually shortlist for RCS, two publish a full US rate card you can check before talking to anyone: SimplyRCS by Signalmash ($0.0039 per text segment, $0.0150 per card or media message) and Plivo ($0.0077 per segment rich text, $0.0180 media). Twilio publishes its per-message rates but not the carrier surcharges that land on top. Vonage and Bandwidth document how they bill but not the rates. Sinch, Infobip and Bird quote. Judged on everything a bill is made of, not just the per-message line, SimplyRCS publishes the most: every rate, every carrier fee per carrier at cost, every setup and registry fee, and a sample invoice. Transparent is not automatically cheapest, but here the two line up: with no monthly platform fee, SimplyRCS's published per-message rates are lower than Plivo's at every volume.

See this on your own phone: Try RCS on your phone →

A rate card is transparent when the invoice can be predicted from it. That is a higher bar than publishing a number, because the per-message rate is usually the smallest of the surprises. The scorecard below marks each provider on the five layers of a US messaging bill, using only what each one has put in writing, and says so where a number is missing rather than guessing one. Figures were verified in September 2026 against each vendor's published pricing or documentation; quote-priced vendors change terms by contract, so confirm with them directly.

What transparent pricing has to include

Seven things decide what a US RCS programme costs over its life. A provider is transparent to the extent it publishes all seven.

  1. Per-message rates, by class. The text rate and the media rate separately, whether an interactive card with buttons bills as text or as media, and whether text bills per message or per 160-character segment. A long message that is one RCS message can be three SMS segments.
  2. Carrier fees. Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile and US Cellular each levy a per-message surcharge on business traffic. The question is whether the provider publishes them, passes them through at cost on their own line, or blends them into a headline rate.
  3. Setup and sender fees. Agent or sender activation, annual vetting, and what it costs to change a sender profile you already paid to create.
  4. Numbers and registry fees. Monthly number rental, 10DLC brand and campaign fees from The Campaign Registry, and who files them.
  5. The penalty lines. Failed-message charges, per-interaction processing fees, support tiers and separately licensed AI products. Infobip publishes $0.07456 per outbound AI interaction on its AgentOS plan; Twilio publishes production support from $250 a month or 4 percent of spend; on SimplyRCS email support is free, Premium Support is optional at $250 a month, and AI usage is an optional package priced separately.
  6. Onboarding and porting costs. What it costs to move in: number porting, re-filing 10DLC and the verified RCS agent, and running in parallel with the old provider. Long codes and toll-free numbers carry no carrier migration fee anywhere; short codes carry carrier-set fees ($500 T-Mobile, $250 Verizon, $150 Claro) that should be passed through at cost. Ask whether the provider itself charges for any of the three; SimplyRCS does not, and moving from Twilio without losing your numbers has the checklist.
  7. Contract fine print. Term, minimum monthly commitment, notice period, auto-renewal, overage rates above a plan tier, and what happens to the rate when volume falls. Pay-as-you-go providers have none of these; plan-tier and enterprise providers have all of them, and they belong in the comparison because they decide what you pay in a slow month and what it costs to leave. SimplyRCS has no contract, minimum or term.

The scorecard

Provider Per-message RCS rates Carrier fees Setup and sender fees Numbers and registry Penalty lines
SimplyRCS Published: $0.0039 per text segment, $0.0150 card or media, $0.0004 device check, $0.05 per conversation (optional) Published per carrier, at cost, own invoice line Published: $250 one-time RCS Sender ID setup and review (waived with Premium Support), $200/yr Aegis review, $500 T-Mobile activation, $0 to change Published: $0.50/mo per number, registry fees listed None; no failed-message fee, bots and email support free, Premium Support optional at $250/mo
Plivo Published: $0.0077 per segment text, $0.0180 media Passed through, separate per-carrier surcharge tables Plans from about $25/mo; self-serve verification Pay as you go; you file 10DLC Not published
Twilio Published: ~$0.0083 basic, ~$0.0220 media sent, ~$0.0165 received Passed through; published beside each rate at $0.0025 to $0.02 per message $500 one-time carrier onboarding and $200/yr Aegis per sender, published in its onboarding guide; you file registration Monthly rental per number; you file 10DLC $0.001 per failed message; premium support paid
Vonage Model documented (Basic, Rich, Conversation), US rates not published Passed through on SMS; RCS treatment not stated Not published US SMS about $0.0068 plus carrier fees Not published
Bandwidth Not published; negotiated per contract Fee structure documented, rates by contract Contract Contract Documented: $0.001/MB over 5 MB on T-Mobile
Sinch Not published; quoted Inside the quote Not published on its RCS pricing page Contract Engage in tiered plans; Chatlayer AI bot sold separately
Infobip Not published; quoted Not stated beyond "operator agreements set the base cost" Enterprise onboarding Contract Published: AgentOS $0.07456 per outbound AI interaction on a $530/mo plan
Bird Not published; RCS absent from the public pricing table Not stated Plan tiers Plan tiers Vendor fees, partly published

Three tiers fall out of that table. SimplyRCS and Plivo publish rate cards, and SimplyRCS also publishes the carrier fees and the setup fees around them. Twilio, Vonage and Bandwidth publish part of the picture: rates without surcharges, a billing model without rates, or a fee structure without a price. Sinch, Infobip and Bird price by quote, so the only way to compare them is to get the quote first.

Why the per-message rate is the least of it

On a real invoice the per-message line is often not the largest one. On the billing transparency page, the illustrative 50,000-message month shows $195 in message charges next to $261.30 in carrier pass-through surcharges, and that is with the surcharges at cost. A provider that marks those fees up, or folds them into a blended rate, can quote a lower headline number and deliver a higher total, and there is no way to tell from the outside unless the fees are published.

The same is true of message classes. Twilio's $0.0083 is the rate for basic RCS, which is text. The rich cards, carousels and suggested actions that are the reason to use RCS bill at the rich class, about $0.0220. SimplyRCS follows the carriers' US model: text with reply buttons is the text rate and any card, carousel or media is the media rate. Either way, the published rate you compare has to be the one for the format you will actually send. How much does RCS cost walks through each component.

Transparent is not the same as cheapest

The two published rate cards are shaped differently, and honesty about that is part of being transparent. Neither charges a monthly platform or agent fee, so the comparison comes down to the per-message rates. On rich text SimplyRCS is $0.0039 a segment, against $0.0077 per segment at Plivo. On rich media it is $0.0150, against $0.0180. So SimplyRCS's published rates are lower at every volume. Cheapest is still a separate test from transparent: carrier surcharges, registry fees and one-time sender setup belong in any total, and the rates side by side are on SimplyRCS vs Plivo. Which RCS providers charge no platform fee lists the usage-only providers and what each still charges per verified sender.

What the rate cards leave out is the work around the messages: the campaign builder, the shared inbox, the bot builder, support, and the team that files your carrier registrations. On SimplyRCS the software is free, email support is free on every account, and we file the registrations; Premium Support adds a dedicated account manager for $250 a month if you want one. On a developer-first platform that tooling is yours to build and maintain, and it appears on nobody's rate card.

How to check a quote you cannot see

If the provider you are evaluating is one of the quoting six, the quote becomes comparable to a published rate card only when it answers the same five questions. Ask for the text rate and the media rate separately, and whether text bills per segment or per message. Ask whether US carrier surcharges are passed through at cost or marked up, whether they appear on their own invoice line, and which carriers' fees the quoted number includes. Ask for the activation fee, the annual vetting fee and the cost to change a sender profile. Ask what a number costs a month and who files 10DLC. And ask what is billed on a failed message, on a support ticket, and on the AI product. A quote that answers all of them can be compared. One that does not is a single number you cannot decompose. Questions to ask an RCS vendor has the full list.

A ten-line audit you can run on any vendor

Score a provider one point per "yes", from its public pages alone, before the first sales call. Seven or more and the invoice can be predicted; four or fewer and you are buying a quote, not a rate card.

  1. Is the US RCS text rate published?
  2. Is the US RCS media rate published separately from the text rate?
  3. Does the page say whether an interactive card without media bills as text or as media, and whether text bills per message or per segment?
  4. Are US carrier surcharges published per carrier and passed through at cost on their own invoice line?
  5. Are the one-time sender setup fee and the annual vetting fee published, with the cost of changing a sender profile?
  6. Are number rental and the Campaign Registry fees listed?
  7. Is any recurring charge that exists whether or not you send named and priced per sender?
  8. Are failed-message, support and AI charges either published or stated to be included?
  9. Are porting, re-filing and parallel-run charges either published or stated to be none?
  10. Is there no term, minimum or notice period, or are all three published?

How SimplyRCS answers each line

Check Where it is published
1 to 3: rates by class, how cards and segments bill Pricing and How RCS billing works: $0.0039 per SMS or RCS text segment; $0.0150 per MMS or RCS card or media message; same inbound; every element sorted into its class
4: carrier surcharges per carrier, at cost, own line Billing transparency: the per-carrier table and a sample invoice with the surcharge line shown
5: setup, annual vetting, profile changes Pricing: one-time $250 RCS Sender ID setup and review, $200 a year Aegis review, $500 T-Mobile activation, $0 to change a profile
6: numbers and registry Pricing: numbers from $0.50 a month; the Campaign Registry schedule listed
7: the recurring line Pricing: no monthly platform, agent, seat or API fee; the app, API, bots, inbox and analytics are free. Numbers are $0.50 a month
8: failed messages, support, AI No failed-message fee; email support free, Premium Support optional at $250 a month, with no setup fee and RCS Sender ID setup and review waived; AI packages optional and priced separately
9: porting, re-filing, parallel run No porting fee; the team ports numbers, re-files 10DLC and the RCS agent, and runs in parallel with the old provider until cutover. A migrating RCS sender has the standard one-time $250 RCS Sender ID setup and review, and short-code migration fees are carrier-set and passed through at cost
10: contract No contract, minimum or term
The check that is not a price: security SOC 2 Type II report under NDA, US infrastructure

Two things this page does not carry, on purpose. There are no screenshots of competitor pricing pages, because those pages change and a stale image misleads; every figure above links to the live page it came from and carries its check date. And there is no customer quote, because SimplyRCS does not publish testimonials it cannot attribute; the sample invoice on the billing transparency page is the evidence of cost predictability, line by line.

Where SimplyRCS sits

SimplyRCS publishes every layer on the pricing page: $0.0039 per SMS or RCS text segment, $0.0150 per MMS or RCS card or media message, the same rate inbound and outbound; $0.0004 per RCS device check and optional conversation pricing at $0.05 per 24-hour conversation; the per-carrier surcharge table at cost; no monthly platform or agent fee, with the app, API, bots, inbox and analytics free and email support on every account; the one-time $250 RCS Sender ID setup and review, $200 a year Aegis sender review and $500 T-Mobile activation itemised up front; optional Premium Support at $250 a month, with no setup fee and RCS Sender ID setup and review waived; numbers from $0.50 a month; the Campaign Registry fee schedule; and nothing to change a sender profile. Taxes and surcharges are estimated before checkout and reconciled on the invoice, and the billing transparency page shows a sample bill line by line. That is the standard we would hold any provider to, including us.

Key facts
  • Two providers publish a full US RCS rate card: SimplyRCS ($0.0039 / $0.0150) and Plivo ($0.0077 per segment / $0.0180).
  • Twilio publishes per-message rates (~$0.0083 basic, ~$0.0220 media) and, beside them, the carrier fees that land on top, $0.0025 to $0.02 per message.
  • Vonage documents its billing model without US rates; Bandwidth documents its fee structure without rates; Sinch, Infobip and Bird quote.
  • Carrier surcharges can outweigh the message charges on an invoice; whether they are published and passed through at cost is the biggest single transparency test.
  • With no monthly platform fee, SimplyRCS's published rates ($0.0039 per text segment, $0.0150 per card or media message) are lower than Plivo's at every volume.
  • A quote is comparable to a rate card only when it states rates by class, carrier fee treatment, setup and sender fees, number and registry costs, and penalty lines.
  • Two layers most comparisons skip: onboarding and porting costs (SimplyRCS charges none; carrier short-code migration fees pass through at cost) and contract fine print (term, minimum, notice; SimplyRCS has no contract or minimum).
  • The ten-line audit above scores a provider from its public pages alone: seven or more yes answers and the invoice can be predicted from the rate card.

Frequently asked

Which RCS providers publish their US rates?

Two of the eight usually shortlisted: SimplyRCS ($0.0039 per text segment, $0.0150 per card or media message) and Plivo ($0.0077 per segment rich text, $0.0180 rich media). Twilio publishes per-message rates but not the carrier surcharges that land on top. Vonage and Bandwidth document how they bill without the rates. Sinch, Infobip and Bird quote.

Is the most transparent RCS provider also the cheapest?

On published rates, yes. SimplyRCS has no monthly platform or agent fee, and its $0.0039 rich text and $0.0150 rich media rates are below Plivo’s published per-segment rates, so its pay-as-you-go total is lower at every volume. Transparency means the invoice can be predicted from what is published, carrier pass-throughs included.

What should a transparent RCS quote include?

The text rate and the media rate separately, and whether text bills per segment or per message; whether US carrier surcharges are passed through at cost or marked up, and whether they appear on their own invoice line; the activation fee, annual vetting fee and the cost to change a sender profile; number rental and who files 10DLC; and what is billed on failed messages, support and any AI product. A quote that answers all of those can be compared with a published rate card.

Does Twilio publish its RCS pricing?

Partly. Twilio publishes about $0.0083 for basic RCS and about $0.0220 to send rich media, with $0.0165 to receive. The carrier fees passed through on top are published beside each rate, $0.0025 to $0.02 per message depending on carrier and message type, and number rental, self-filed registration and a $0.001 failed-message fee sit alongside. The published rate is a floor rather than a forecast.

Why do most RCS providers quote instead of publishing a rate?

Usually because their pricing varies by contract: committed volume tiers, the markets you send to, and the carrier agreements underneath each one. Global aggregators in particular price per market. That is a legitimate model, but it means the number cannot be checked before a sales conversation, and it makes carrier fee treatment invisible unless you ask for it explicitly.

How can I tell whether carrier fees are being marked up?

Ask for them on their own invoice line, per carrier, and compare them with a published carrier fee table. SimplyRCS publishes the Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile and US Cellular surcharges it passes through at cost, so any quote can be checked against them. A provider that blends carrier fees into a headline rate cannot be checked from outside, which is the point of asking.

Every number on one page, our full US rate card, published. See pricing → · How your bill is built →

← All RCS questions